13 Disabilities that qualify a student for an IEP

According to IDEA (The law that allows for IEP’s and Special Education), there are 13 disabilities that mandate a child have an Individual Education Plan (IEP).   These 13 disabilities as defined by IDEA:


  • Autism
  • Blindness
  • Deafness
  • Emotional Disturbance
  • Hearing Impairment
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Multiple Disabilities
  • Orthopedic Impairment
  • Other Health Impaired
  • Specific Learning Disability
  • Speech or Language Impairment
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Visual Impairment

If your child does not fall into one of these 13 categories, don’t fret!  The 504 process is designed to help children who do NOT have a disability, better “access the curriculum” in a school setting.

Do you have any questions?  Leave me a comment or email me directly and I’ll do my best to help.



Subscribe to our e-mail newsletter to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply